Fashion Flashback: Corey Hart

I think a good fairy waved her magic wand around me and made me suddenly aware of men’s style when I saw the video for Corey Hart’s single “Sunglasses At Night.” Days later, I convinced my mother to drop me off at the mall (unsupervised!) to visit the Regis Hair Salon.

I arrived in Bugle Boy cargo pants, a paisley shirt with exagerrated shirt tails and aerobic Reeboks, convinced that I would somehow be transformed into a spiky-haired, pouty-lipped sex god with just a few snips of the scissors.

“Your hair is too thick,” my stylist told me. “But I’ll try.”

I ended up with something that indeed looked like I fought the lawnmower and lost. After a brief flirtation with the wedge, I gave up on my MTV hair dreams and became a barber shop guy.

Leave a Reply

