Fashion Flashback: Pet Shop Boys

Picture it, Southern California, 1986. I’m a bit chubby and I’ve got an exercise bike in my bedroom that I can pedal up to 20 miles a day on. I wear my awesome AM/FM Walkman and listen to Casey Kasem’s Top 10 countdown, when I suddenly am struck by the debut single “West End Girls” by a new group called Pet Shop Boys. It was one of those moments where everything was alligned, everything made sense and I had a glimmer of who I was.

Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe would become known for their outrageous outfits and stage shows, as well as work with gay icons like Dusty Springfield, Boy George, Liza Minelli, Robbie Williams, Kylie Minogue and the stars of Absolutely Fabulous. The duo have developed a fan following that keeps concert halls packed, though they rarely make the music charts.

Leave a Reply

